Department of Food Science and Nutrition

Welcome to the Department of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Minnesota. Home to world-class researchers and educators, we are Driven to Discover™ the ways food impacts health and society.

New Faculty Positions

Learn more

FScN is recruiting for four new faculty positions in a variety of fields

2021 FScN Showcase

Learn More

The 2021 Fall Showcase features the importance of transferable research and skills in food and nutrition. Visit the event page to learn about important research being done in FScN

Salesroom Reopened

Learn more

Our famous Meat and Dairy Salesroom is back open every Wednesday 2-5 PM, first floor of ABLMS. (Masks Required)


  • New Course Garners Praise

    November 15, 2021

    Food Customs and Culture (FSCN 2512) is catching eyes and receiving rave reviews

  • HFHL Fall Courses

    November 3, 2021

    Join the Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute this fall for their popular series “Cooking for Wellness” and “Cooking Up Culture!”

  • State Fair Cheese Awards

    October 27, 2021

    Two cheeses developed by Joseph J. Warthesen Food Processing Center (pilot plant) staff place in the Minnesota State Fair Dairy Competition