April 26, 2016

The Minnesota section of IFT recently announced its annual scholarship and travel award winners, and several FSCN students were recipients. 

Graduate student Justin Carlson was the recipient of the Elwood Caldwell Scholarship Award for Volunteer Service. The scholarship is given in recognition of professor emeritus Elwood Caldwell for his many years of service to the section. With his demonstrated volunteer and leadership activities, Carlson received a scholarship of $2,250. 

Additionally, nine $1,000 scholarships were awarded. From the University of Minnesota, undergraduate student Jenny Hayek, M.S. students Chelsey Hinnenkamp, Citra Rahardjo and Alexandrea Kuchel, and Ph.D. student Geoffrey Dubrow were all recipients. 

Travel award recipients included Amy Mathiowetz ($600), Jenny Hayek ($500), Chelsey Hinnenkamp ($500), and Citra Rahardjo ($500).

Justin Carlson and Elwood Caldwell

Professor Emeritus Elwood Caldwell and graduate student Justin Carlson

IFT MS student scholarship winners

M.S. student scholarship winners (from L to R): Chelsey Hinnenkamp, Citra Rahardjo, Alexandrea Kuchel

Ph.D. student scholarship winners

Ph.D. student scholarship winners (from L to R): Geoffrey Dubrow, Poonam Singha, Gabriela John Swamy

IFT travel award winners

Travel award winers (from L to R): Amy Mathiowetz, Jenny Hayek, Chelsey Hinnenkamp, Citra Rahardjo, Poonam Singa (SDSU), Gabriela John Swamy (SDSU)