Food Science Graduate Faculty

Name Position/title Email
Abdennour Abbas

PhD, Adjunct Assistant Professor

aabbas@umn.edu
George Annor

Ph.D., Assistant Professor,
General Mills Endowed Professor in Cereal Chemistry and Technology

gannor@umn.edu
William A Atwell

Adjunct Assistant Professor

atwel001@umn.edu
David Baumler

Ph.D., Assistant Professor

dbaumler@umn.edu
Mrinal Bhattacharya

PhD, Professor

bhatt002@umn.edu
A. Saari Csallany

Ph.D., Professor

ascsalla@umn.edu
Joellen Feirtag

Ph.D., Associate Professor and Food Safety Specialist

jfeirtag@umn.edu
Ryan C Fink

Adjunct Assistant Professor

rcfink@umn.edu
Craig A. Hassel

Ph.D., Associate Professor and Extension Nutritionist

chassel@umn.edu
Baraem (Pam) Ismail

Ph.D., Associate Professor
Food Science Major Coordinator

bismailm@umn.edu
Anup Johny

Ph.D., Assistant Professor in Animal Science

anupjohn@umn.edu
Theodore P. Labuza

Ph.D., Professor

tplabuza@umn.edu
Kumar Mallikarjunan

Ph.D., Professor

kumarpm@umn.edu
Leonard F. Marquart

Ph.D., RD, Associate Professor

lmarquar@umn.edu
Alessandra Marti

Adjunct Assistant Professor

amarti@umn.edu
Lloyd E. Metzger

Director of Midwest Dairy Center, Professor

lloyd.metzger@sdstate.edu
Christine Nowakowski

Ph.D., Adjunct Assistant Professor

cnowakow@umn.edu
Daniel J. O'Sullivan

Ph.D., Professor

dosulliv@umn.edu
Gary A. Reineccius

Ph.D., Professor
Interim Department Head

greinecc@umn.edu
Roger R. Ruan

PhD, Professor

ruanx001@umn.edu
Fernando Sampedro Parra

Assistant Professor

fsampedr@umn.edu
Mary K. Schmidl

Adjunct Professor

mschmidl@umn.edu
Tonya C. Schoenfuss

Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dairy Products Technology

tschoenf@umn.edu
Joanne L. Slavin

Ph.D., RD, Professor

jslavin@umn.edu
David E. Smith

Ph.D., Professor

desmith@umn.edu
Christine Vandongen

Fellow, Sensory Center

cvandong@umn.edu
Zata M. Vickers

Ph.D., Professor

zvickers@umn.edu