Departmental Faculty

Name Position/title Email
George Annor

Ph.D., Assistant Professor,
General Mills Endowed Professor in Cereal Chemistry and Technology

gannor@umn.edu
David Baumler

Ph.D., Assistant Professor

dbaumler@umn.edu
Steven Bowden

Ph.D., Assistant Professor

sbowden@umn.edu
Chi Chen

Ph.D., Associate Professor

chichen@umn.edu
Xiaoli Chen

M.D., Ph.D., Professor 
General Mills Chair in Genomics for Healthful Foods
Director of Nutrition Graduate Studies

xlchen@umn.edu
Ryan B Cox

Ph.D., Associate Professor

ryancox@umn.edu
A. Saari Csallany

Ph.D., Professor

ascsalla@umn.edu
Carrie P. Earthman

Ph.D., RD, LD, Professor

cearthma@umn.edu
Joellen Feirtag

Ph.D., Associate Professor and Food Safety Specialist

jfeirtag@umn.edu
Daniel D. Gallaher

Ph.D., Professor

dgallahe@umn.edu
Craig A. Hassel

Ph.D., Associate Professor and Extension Nutritionist

chassel@umn.edu
Baraem (Pam) Ismail

Ph.D., Associate Professor
Food Science Major Coordinator

bismailm@umn.edu
Renee Korczak

Teaching Assistant Professor

korcz005@umn.edu
Mindy S. Kurzer

Ph.D., Professor
Director of UMN Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives

mkurzer@umn.edu
Theodore P. Labuza

Ph.D., Professor

tplabuza@umn.edu
Allen S. Levine

Ph.D., Professor,
University of Minnesota Vice President for Research

aslevine@umn.edu
Kumar Mallikarjunan

Ph.D., Professor

kumarpm@umn.edu
Leonard F. Marquart

Ph.D., RD, Associate Professor

lmarquar@umn.edu
Lloyd E. Metzger

Director of Midwest Dairy Center, Professor

lloyd.metzger@sdstate.edu
Charles Muscoplat

Ph.D., Professor

cmuscop@umn.edu
Daniel J. O'Sullivan

Ph.D., Professor

dosulliv@umn.edu
Marla M. Reicks

Ph.D., Professor, Extension Nutritionist
Reicks CV

mreicks@umn.edu
Gary A. Reineccius

Ph.D., Professor
Interim Department Head

greinecc@umn.edu
Renee Rosen

Teaching Assistant Professor

rarosen@umn.edu
Moon-Suhn Ryu

Ph.D., Assistant Professor

mryu@umn.edu
Tonya C. Schoenfuss

Ph.D., Associate Professor, Dairy Products Technology

tschoenf@umn.edu
Joanne L. Slavin

Ph.D., RD, Professor

jslavin@umn.edu
Chery F. Smith

Ph.D., MPH, Professor

csmith@umn.edu
David E. Smith

Ph.D., Professor

desmith@umn.edu
Zata M. Vickers

Ph.D., Professor

zvickers@umn.edu