Faculty Directory

Department of Food Science and Nutrition
1334 Eckles Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
Main Office: 612-624-1290
Fax: 612-625-5272
Staff Directory (PDF)

Departmental Faculty

Name Area of Expertise Email

George Annor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

General Mills Endowed Professor in Cereal Chemistry and Technology
Cereal Science and Technology

gannor@umn.edu

David Baumler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Food-borne pathogens, food fermentations, metabolism of ancient/ancestral microorganisms dbaumler@umn.edu

Steven Bowden, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Food-borne pathogens, microbial stress responses, bacterial genetics, bacterial virulence sbowden@umn.edu

Chi Chen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Metabolomics, nutritional biochemistry, xenobiotic metabolism, toxicology chichen@umn.edu

Xiaoli Chen, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor

General Mills Chair in Genomics for Healthful Foods, Director of Nutrition Graduate Studies
Molecular nutrition and metabolism, obesity, Type-2 diabetes
xlchen@umn.edu
Ryan B. Cox, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Processed meat technology, value-added animal product processing and safety, pre-harvest effects on meat quality ryancox@umn.edu
A. Saari Csallany, Ph.D.
Professor
Food chemistry and nutritional biochemistry, free radical induced oxidative degradation of fatty acids ascsalla@umn.edu
Joellen Feirtag, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Food Science Graduate Studies
Extension Food Safety Specialist
jfeirtag@umn.edu
Daniel D. Gallaher, Ph.D.
Professor
Major Coordinator for Nutrition Undergraduate Program, Diet and colon cancer, health benefits of dietary fibers including prebiotics, iron bioavailability dgallahe@umn.edu
Craig A. Hassel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Extension Nutritionist
Community and cross-cultural engagement, decolonizing food and nutrition sciences
chassel@umn.edu

Kathleen Hill Gallant, Ph.D. Associate Professor

Mineral metabolism in kidney disease, Medical nutrition therapy for kidney disease, Phosphorus, calcium, and magnesium, Controlled feeding, metabolic balance, and kinetic studies, Clinical and translational research

hillkm@umn.edu
Baraem (Pam) Ismail, Ph.D.
Professor
Protein ingredient chemistry, functionality of plant protein ingredients, food analytical chemistry, composition and functionality of sustainable crops bismailm@umn.edu
Renee Korczak, Ph.D., RDN
Teaching Assistant Professor
Sports nutrition, whole grains, effects of fiber on human health korcz005@umn.edu
Mindy S. Kurzer, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, UMN Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute mkurzer@umn.edu
Theodore P. Labuza, Ph.D.
Professor
Food shelf life testing, food safety risks and technology, food texture and glass transition, food quality, food engineering tplabuza@umn.edu
P. Kumar Mallikarjunan, Ph.D.
Professor
Associate Food Science Director of Graduate Studies, food process engineering kumarpm@umn.edu
Leonard F. Marquart, Ph.D., RD
Associate Professor
Whole grains, food systems lmarquar@umn.edu

Daniel J. O'Sullivan, Ph.D.
Professor

Lactic acid bacteria, bifidobacteria, gut microbiome dosulliv@umn.edu
Marla M. Reicks, Ph.D.
Professor
Extension Nutritionist
Behavior change interventions to prevent childhood obesity, emphasis on low-income ethnically diverse families
mreicks@umn.edu
Gary A. Reineccius, Ph.D.
Professor
Encapsulation innovation, flavor research greinecc@umn.edu
Moon-Suhn Ryu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Metals biology, molecular nutrition mryu@umn.edu
Tonya C. Schoenfuss, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Food Science Major Coordinator, Dairy products and ingredient chemistry and technology, Interim Director of Midwest Dairy Association Foods Processing Center tschoenf@umn.edu
Joanne L. Slavin, Ph.D., RD
Professor
Dietary fiber, dietary guidance, agriculture/family farming jslavin@umn.edu
David E. Smith, Ph.D.
Professor
Food Science Director of Graduate Studies, value-added dairy products, food processing and engineering desmith@umn.edu
Zata M. Vickers, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Sensory Center
Food acceptability (liking, flavor, satiety)
zvickers@umn.edu
Johan (Job) Ubbink, Ph.D.
Professor and Head
Department Head jubbink@umn.edu