Faculty Directory

Department of Food Science and Nutrition
1334 Eckles Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
Main Office: 612-624-1290
Fax: 612-625-5272
Staff Directory (PDF)

Departmental Faculty

Name Area of Expertise Email

George Annor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

General Mills Endowed Professor in Cereal Chemistry and Technology
Cereal Science and Technology

gannor@umn.edu

David Baumler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Food-borne pathogens, food fermentations, metabolism of ancient/ancestral microorganisms dbaumler@umn.edu

Steven Bowden, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Food-borne pathogens, microbial stress responses, bacterial genetics, bacterial virulence sbowden@umn.edu

Chi Chen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Metabolomics, nutritional biochemistry, xenobiotic metabolism, toxicology chichen@umn.edu

Xiaoli Chen, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor

General Mills Chair in Genomics for Healthful Foods, Director of Nutrition Graduate Studies
Molecular nutrition and metabolism, obesity, Type-2 diabetes
xlchen@umn.edu
Ryan B. Cox, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Processed meat technology, value-added animal product processing and safety, pre-harvest effects on meat quality ryancox@umn.edu
A. Saari Csallany, Ph.D.
Professor
Food chemistry and nutritional biochemistry, free radical induced oxidative degradation of fatty acids ascsalla@umn.edu
Carrie P. Earthman, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.
Professor
Body composition, energy metabolism, clinical nutrition, hospital malnutrition  cearthma@umn.edu
Joellen Feirtag, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Food Science Graduate Studies
Extension Food Safety Specialist
jfeirtag@umn.edu
Daniel D. Gallaher, Ph.D.
Professor
Diet and colon cancer, health benefits of dietary fibers including prebiotics, iron bioavailability dgallahe@umn.edu
Craig A. Hassel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Extension Nutritionist
Community and cross-cultural engagement, decolonizing food and nutrition sciences
chassel@umn.edu
Baraem (Pam) Ismail, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Food Science Major Coordinator
Protein ingredient chemistry, functionality of plant protein ingredients, food analytical chemistry, composition and functionality of sustainable crops
bismailm@umn.edu
Renee Korczak, Ph.D., RDN
Teaching Assistant Professor
Sports nutrition, whole grains, effects of fiber on human health korcz005@umn.edu
Mindy S. Kurzer, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, UMN Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute mkurzer@umn.edu
Theodore P. Labuza, Ph.D.
Professor
Food shelf life testing, food safety risks and technology, food texture and glass transition, food quality, food engineering tplabuza@umn.edu
Allen S. Levine, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Minnesota Obesity Center
Neural regulation of food intake, brain circuitry involved in rewarding properties of food
aslevine@umn.edu
P. Kumar Mallikarjunan, Ph.D.
Professor
Food process engineering kumarpm@umn.edu
Leonard F. Marquart, Ph.D., RD
Associate Professor
Whole grains, food systems lmarquar@umn.edu
Lloyd E. Metzger, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Midwest Dairy Center
Cheese technology, dairy products processing
lloyd.metzger@sdstate.edu
Charles Muscoplat, Ph.D.
Professor
Nutrigenomics cmuscop@umn.edu

Daniel J. O'Sullivan, Ph.D.
Professor

Lactic acid bacteria, bifidobacteria, gut microbiome dosulliv@umn.edu
Marla M. Reicks, Ph.D.
Professor
Extension Nutritionist
Behavior change interventions to prevent childhood obesity, emphasis on low-income ethnically diverse families
mreicks@umn.edu
Gary A. Reineccius, Ph.D.
Professor
Interim Department Head
Encapsulation innovation, flavor research
greinecc@umn.edu
Moon-Suhn Ryu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Metals biology, molecular nutrition mryu@umn.edu
Tonya C. Schoenfuss, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dairy products and ingredient chemistry and technology tschoenf@umn.edu
Joanne L. Slavin, Ph.D., RD
Professor
Dietary fiber, dietary guidance, agriculture/family farming jslavin@umn.edu
Chery F. Smith, Ph.D., MPH
Professor
Eating behavior, community nutrition, food systems, dietary acculturation, international nutrition csmith@umn.edu
David E. Smith, Ph.D.
Professor
Major Coordinator for Nutrition Undergraduate Program
Value-added dairy products, food processing and engineering
desmith@umn.edu
Zata M. Vickers, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Sensory Center
Food acceptability (liking, flavor, satiety)
zvickers@umn.edu

 

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Position/Title Email
William A. Atwell Adjunct Assistant Professor atwel001@umn.edu
Sumana Bell Adjunct Assistant Professor sbell14@umn.edu
Tammy Butterick Adjunct Assistant Professor butte017@umn.edu
Ryan C. Fink Adjunct Assistant Professor rcfink@umn.edu
Willie Hendrickson Adjunct Professor whendrickson@aveko.com
Satya Jonnalagadda Adjunct Associate Professor ssjonnal@umn.edu
Catherine M. Kotz Adjunct Professor kotzx004@umn.edu
Jillian K. Lampert Adjunct Assistant Professor jcroll@umn.edu
Alessandra Marti Adjunct Assistant Professor  amarti@umn.edu
Serpil Metin Adjunct Assistant Professor serpil_metin@cargill.com
Joshua P. Nixon Adjunct Assistant Professor nixon049@umn.edu
Christine Nowakowski Adjunct Assistant Professor cnowako@umn.edu
Pawel Olszewski Adjunct Associate Professor olsze005@umn.edu
Claudio Perez Leighton Adjunct Assistant Professor perez087@umn.edu
Susan K. Raatz Ajdunct Professor raatz001@umn.edu
Mary K. Schmidl Adjunct Professor mschmidl@umn.edu
Alice C. Shapiro Adjunct Associate Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health shapi013@umn.edu
Vijai Shukla Adjunct Professor gamma1948@hotmail.com
Patricia Splett Adjunct Associate Professor splet004@umn.edu
Jennifer A. Teske Adjunct Assistant Professor teskeja@umn.edu
ChuanFeng Wang Affiliate Professor cwang@umn.edu
Holly Willis Adjunct Assistant Professor hjwillis@stkate.edu