Food Science Graduate Faculty

Name Position/title Email
Abdennour Abbas

PhD, Adjunct Assistant Professor

aabbas@umn.edu
William A Atwell

Adjunct Assistant Professor

atwel001@umn.edu
David Baumler

PhD, Assistant Professor

dbaumler@umn.edu
Mrinal Bhattacharya

PhD, Professor

bhatt002@umn.edu
Sailaja Chandrapati

Adjunct Associate Professor

chan0229@umn.edu
A. Saari Csallany

PhD, Professor

ascsalla@umn.edu
Joellen Feirtag

PhD, Associate Professor and Food Safety Specialist

jfeirtag@umn.edu
Ryan C Fink

Adjunct Assistant Professor

rcfink@umn.edu
Craig A. Hassel

PhD, Associate Professor and Extension Nutritionist

chassel@umn.edu
Baraem (Pam) Ismail

PhD, Associate Professor and Food Science Major Coordinator

bismailm@umn.edu
Theodore P. Labuza

PhD, Professor

tplabuza@umn.edu
Allen S. Levine

PhD, Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs, Professor,
Director of Minnesota Obesity Center

aslevine@umn.edu
Leonard F. Marquart

PhD, RD, Professor

lmarquar@umn.edu
Alessandra Marti

Research Specialist

amarti@umn.edu
Lloyd E. Metzger

Director of Midwest Dairy Center, Professor

lloyd.metzger@sdstate.edu
Christine Nowakowski

PhD, Adjunct Professor

cnowakow@umn.edu
Daniel J. O'Sullivan

PhD, Professor

dosulliv@umn.edu
Gary A. Reineccius

PhD, Professor

greinecc@umn.edu
Roger R. Ruan

PhD, Professor

ruanx001@umn.edu
Fernando Sampedro Parra

Assistant Professor

fsampedr@umn.edu
Mary K. Schmidl

Adjunct Professor

mschmidl@umn.edu
Tonya C. Schoenfuss

Associate Professor, Dairy Products Technology

tschoenf@umn.edu
Joanne L. Slavin

PhD, RD, Professor

jslavin@umn.edu
David E. Smith

PhD, Professor,
Director of Graduate Studies in Food Science,
Major Coordinator for Nutrition Undergraduate Program

desmith@umn.edu
Bernhard Van Lengerich

PhD, Adjunct Professor

vanle003@umn.edu, bernhard.vanLengerich@genmills.com
Zata M. Vickers

PhD, Professor

zvickers@umn.edu